EndoGal

Just another Gal with Endometriosis

Why do we hide it? July 9, 2011

Filed under: Endo — EndoGal @ 12:13 AM
Tags: , ,

I recently had a lovely evening out with my lady friends and they asked me what was going on with me (as they had seen my posts about my endo and needing surgery). Why do endo patients downplay how awful this condition is? I speak very openly about the condition; yet, when it comes to discussing the pain of it, I just say “Oh well” or “It’s okay.” Why? Why can’t I just say that it hurts really bad? The most I could say was that it’s been really painful since my daughter’s birth, but it’s okay. I talk about surgery as if it’s no big deal. Perhaps that’s because for me it isn’t. I’ve had 7 abdominal surgeries for reproductive related troubles and I bounce back so quickly, so maybe it’s not a big deal. I have no idea.

As I drove home tonight, I wondered why I downplayed the condition so much. That does nothing to spread awareness about how awful this disease is. Am I afraid that I’ll be seen as weak? You would think that it would make me seem strong – struggling through pain every day. I wish I knew why I (and surely others) play down the pain component so much. I also wish I didn’t do it. Maybe I can try not to make it seem like it’s not a big deal because frankly, it is. To live in pain almost every day to the point where it affects your life is not “no biggie.”

If more of us didn’t downplay it, then maybe it would help others to see what an awful disease this is. That’s my 2 cents!

 

Share your thoughts

