EndoGal

Just another Gal with Endometriosis

The Start to a Very Sad Weekend – 9/11 September 9, 2011

Filed under: Odds and Ends — EndoGal @ 8:07 PM
Tags:
9/11 (film)

Image via Wikipedia

I never thought I would feel the way that I do about 9/11 on the 10 year anniversary.

When 9/11 happened, I was a senior in college in Rhode Island. My husband (boyfriend at the time) was a college student in Boston. I was glued to the television for days: saddened; amazed by the destruction; devastated, and afraid.

The 1st anniversary of 9/11 was a big one – just one year after the devastation – people trying to put their lives back together. I am fortunate enough not to have been directly impacted by this tragedy on American soil; yet, so many people were. With each year that passed, we remembered what happened that awful day in 2001, but no anniversary has hit me quite like this one. 10 years later and there’s so much coverage. The images of the devastation at Ground Zero bring back all the memories and all the feelings of that day and the days and weeks that followed.

I was telling my husband that this is our Pearl Harbor (for our generation). He likened the tragedy to the assassination of John F. Kennedy. I don’t know what the impact of these events were on Americans because I didn’t live through them. I do know that 9/11 was an absolutely devastating (sorry for the redundance of this word in my post, but I don’t feel that any other word truly captures what happened that day) event in our history and I hope that my daughter (or anyone else for that matter) will never experience such a tragedy in her life – directly or indirectly.

I have a feeling that I will be glued to the tv again this weekend and watching all the memorial coverage. It’s just so tough to relive these images and experiences all over again. But, it’s important to never forget. I feel for all the people that lost a part of themselves that day.

 

Share your thoughts

