EndoGal

Just another Gal with Endometriosis

Sometimes I feel as if I’m just not good enough September 30, 2011

Filed under: Endo,Parenting — EndoGal @ 4:43 PM
Tags: , , , ,

One weekday a week, I am home with my daughter. The other 4 days, she goes off to daycare and on the weekends, we are home as a family.

I have quite a few friends that are stay-at-home moms either full-time or part-time (2 or more days a week). Through Facebook, I learn about all the things they are up to with their kids – visiting the library or park, activities at home, playing outside in the yard, etc. Reading these posts always makes me feel as if I’m not a good enough or fun enough parent to my toddler.

On weekends, we tend to be pretty busy, but try to make time to do things as a family! My husband and I both want to share in the fun things our daughter experiences. We have been to zoos and museums this summer (among other things) and we even alternate who is in the pool with her during swim lessons.

On our one day a week at home (it’s just the two of us), I’d love to do more with her, but I just don’t have the energy. We stay in our PJs (unless we have somewhere to go that day), watch cartoons, take our afternoon nap, and just have an overall low key day. I want to do more and I feel as if I should do more, especially compared to all these other moms. But, I also feel that physically, I can’t. I’m too exhausted or feeling too bad to get up and get moving. On the other hand, is 1 day a week at home just vegging, all that bad? I guess I am just comparing myself to so many of my active mom friends. None of them have a hidden illness. It’s just so frustrating. My daughter isn’t missing out on anything because when it’s time to go out and do something as a family, I just suck it up and make it happen.

I just wish things were different. I have hopes that someday they will be and we’ll have all this fun on our solo days, but it just isn’t going to happen right now. Does that make me a bad parent?

I certainly hope not.

 

2 Responses to “Sometimes I feel as if I’m just not good enough”

  1. spicyt Says:

    That doesn’t make u a bad parent at all. Those of us with chronic illness just cannot compete with those who do not have one…but as far as time spent with our children…its our presence with them, the talking, the loving, the cuddling…even the “vegging” that matters to our kids…not running them from one place to another…filling their days so full there is no time to just chill. So don’t feel like you are less of a mom when u read about all the others activities….keeping ur kids busy isn’t wat makes u a good parent…making sure they feel loved does.
    Tammy

    • EndoGal Says:

      Thanks SpicyT! You helped me put things back into perspective – I’m not like everyone else and can only do what I’m physically able to! And doing all that stuff doesn’t really matter – all the love that our home/family has is what really counts – and there’s plenty of that to go around! Thank you!


Share your thoughts

