EndoGal

Just another Gal with Endometriosis

Frustrated and Need to Vent October 4, 2011

Filed under: Odds and Ends — EndoGal @ 7:40 PM
Tags: , , ,

The last thing I want to do is turn this blog into a bitch fest. If I do that, I know it’s a slippery slope and I’ll be spending all my time complaining about people and things that suck! But, today is the exception to the rule: I need to vent!

On the medical front: after waiting to hear about scheduling my CT Scan, I contacted my doctor’s office and left a message inquiring about the status of the insurance approval. That was yesterday around noon. They have not returned my call. This falls on the heels of some of the worst pain I’ve had so far. For some reason, my symptoms flared up so bad on Sunday that I wasn’t even able to walk. And here we are waiting, at the mercy of the silly doctor’s office who doesn’t have their crap together and I’m here feeling awful. Ugh.

The main reason I need to vent is because of work. I work with a small staff of women (always trouble, right?). There’s one person I work with who is a little younger than I am. She took over for someone who left. When this girl came into this position (she had worked in a different position and came to this one because it was more money, but she did not have any of the major qualifications required of the position). In any case, she has this hands off attitude about her job and as a result, other people end up picking up the slack for her. It’s exhausting. And when you’re busting your butt doing your best and being paid less than said “worker shirker,” (especially when you don’t feel well), the term frustrating is an understatement. I am exhausted. I am tired of doing other people’s work. I have never stopped doing something because I didn’t feel like it. I don’t understand this attitude and I don’t understand people who behave like that…and I don’t think I ever will. The same person even railroaded me for a raise last year and then tried to get herself one. It’s crazy. She goes around blabbing about how she’s buying a second home for her mom and her husband makes six figures, blah blah blah. Well, you don’t need a raise then, do you??? She’s one of those people that can’t let anyone get more than she does. For example, I go in a little early so that I can get out early and home in time to pick up my daughter at daycare (which is 25 miles away from work and closer to home). She changed her hours and they are now similar to mine. Why? She doesn’t have a reason for that other than the fact that EndoGal gets to do X, so Worker Shirker should get to do the same.

Nice guys finish last, that’s for sure. I desperately need another job and have been looking for a long time now. But, unless you have a connection these days, it’s hard to get in anywhere. Someday things will turn around. Until then, I have to suck it up and not less this person’s work shirking get to me!

And yeah, I’m copyrighting that term: worker shirker belongs to EndoGal!

 

Share your thoughts

