EndoGal

Just another Gal with Endometriosis

How Can I Get a Doctor to Freaking Care?!?!? October 12, 2011

Boy am I mad! What the hell do I have to do to get the doctor to work with me on diagnosing this stupid pelvic pain??? Seriously!!! I’m going to end up in the ER due to the pain being intolerable before I get any freaking answers!

My last update on this situation was that my insurance denied a CT scan. I messaged my doctor’s office (by e-mail…I love that!) on Thursday evening asking what our next steps should be. I hadn’t heard anything and figured that perhaps the nurse practitioner was away for a couple of days, afterall, it was just before a holiday weekend. As of this evening, no one returned my e-mail. What do I have to do to get some action? I know I’m one of many patients, but the least they could do is reply to my message. Even if you have no answer on what to do next, you can just tell me that you will get some information and get back to me.

I continue to have more frequent episodes of bad pain. Last night I called my husband out of bed to help me up the stairs. He asked if I wanted to go to the ER and I said no because I wanted to wait it out. Eventually, the worst of it passed. But, I fear it’s going to get to a point where it’s not going to pass and the hospital is the only way I’m going to get an answer.

Tonight, because I was so mad, I sent a message to my doctor’s office. I’m done wasting my time with my primary care doc. I was still polite and explained that I think my best route is to seek advice from a gastroenterologist. I’m hoping that a specliast will have a better idea of what’s going on. Even if my pelvic pain is not a gastroenterological problem, s/he may have an explanation for why I only have bowel movements every 2-3 days despite eating 20-30 g of fiber a day. I eat Fiber One products like it’s my business and still nothing. And, when you have hemorrhoids, that’s not a good combination!

I just want someone to take me seriously and work with me to figure this out. I’m a good patient and listen to doctors orders. I wouldn’t have gone if I wasn’t looking for a resolution. I feel that the only way I’m going to get any help is if I go into the office, throw myself on the ground kicking and screaming and then…maybe then…they will listen. My problem with that? That’s not me. I’m an Endo Gal – I take pain like a champ! FML

 

2 Responses to “How Can I Get a Doctor to Freaking Care?!?!?”

  1. spicyt Says:

    Many do I understand how you feel! These damn doctors act like we are nothing. Epecially us complicated cases…they can’t stand that! Hurts their egos I guess. But I would give anything in this world just to have a doctor put some effort into helping me, to treat me like I’m a human being…not a chart or a diagnosis. If they were in pain like this, they would be figuring out a way to resolve it. I don’t know if caring doctors even exist anymore. I wish you luck, you’ll stay in my prayers. xo
    Tammy

  2. EndoGal Says:

    Thanks Tammy! I’m done giving the PCP a chance to figure it out. Time to bring out the big guns, LOL! I BETTER get a response in the next day or two or heads are gonna roll (and yeah, I’m starting to PMS too….so this is not gonna be pretty)!

    It’s really a shame that the caring doctors are few and far between these days. I do have to say that the reproductive surgeon that I saw a few months ago and who performed my latest lap was one of the kindest doctors I ever dealt with – and incredibly smart. Such a rare find these days. Our appointments were never rushed, he explained everything, and most certainly went the extra mile for the patient. I wish more docs were like him!

    And I totally agree with you – if they were in pain like this, you bet your butt that they’d have the chief of whatever taking care of them. Silly if you ask me. We are all people! How about a little compassion?


Share your thoughts

